Y&L Stylist Q&A: Megan Knapp

I’m excited to be continuing with our Stylist Q&A series, where we ask them questions about their personal style, and grill them for beauty advice and secrets. This week we have an interview with the blonde bombshell and Y&L stylist, Megan Knapp. Questions are in bold italicized text, and stylist and interviewer (Jackie Blizzard, i.e. my) responses are denoted by normal text.

What is your favorite piece in your wardrobe? What clothing or accessory can’t you live without? 

Megan Knapp: My favorite piece of clothing would definitely be my Lululemon yoga pants! Super comfy and figure flattering! I can dress them up and wear them to work or throw on a tank/jacket and run around the park with my 8 month old in them!

Jackie Blizzard (Me): I love a great pair of yoga pants! I haven’t given Lululemon a try yet (I presently am in love with my Prana Audrey pants), but I’m thinking I will have to. Having a wardrobe staple that can be dressed up or down is key for women on the go!

What is your must-have beauty product? 

Megan Knapp: The beauty product I can’t live without would be my Sally Hansen Leg Spray. It’s like makeup for your legs when you need a quick tan and want your legs to look like they are18 again! Perfect for when you are wearing shorts or a skirt for date night (or your school dance depending on your age 🙂 my FAV!!

Jackie Blizzard (Me): Great product recommendation! Especially since tanning can damage your skin and increase your risk for developing skin cancer. It would be a great replacement for pantyhose too (which never looks as nice as flawless tan skin).

Who do you look to for style inspiration?  

Megan Knapp: My style icon would have to be Marilyn Monroe… the way she embraced her body and taught women to love the way they look and love their curves is an inspiration! She looked great—always put together, sophisticated and classy. But always with a touch of sexiness and oozing with femininity.

Jackie Blizzard (Me): Marilyn really is an inspiration, clearly her confidence and comfort in her own skin radiated and added to her sexy mystique. Girls need to look to women like Marilyn Monroe and remember that beauty comes in a variety of shapes and sizes.

Why do you love working in cosmetology/the hair/makeup/nail industry? 

Megan Knapp: I love working in the beauty industry because I love making people feel good about themselves! Having a career doing something that I am good at and really enjoy doing is such a blessing! Every woman deserves to feel good about themselves, inside and out, and i get to help in a big way with that by enhancing the outer beauty everyone already has!

Jackie Blizzard (Me): It is fantastic to hear that you are in the industry for the right reasons! I love when people are able to blend their passions and talents with their work (that is how it should be after all)!

Why do you love working at Y&L?

Megan Knapp: I love working at Y&L because the atmosphere is great! All the girls that work there are so nice and great at what they do, it makes it so easy and enjoyable to be there! Also the clients are great and so willing to help us by spreading the word to their friends… what’s not to like?!!

Jackie Blizzard (Me): I’m seeing a pattern here—Y&L stylists love their colleagues and their clients! All that love is probably why Y&L is such a great place to bring out your beautiful side 🙂

What is one beauty tip you would like to share with our readers? 

Megan Knapp: The one beauty tip I would like to share is hydrate, hydrate, hydrate!!! From the inside-out it is one of the most important things you can do for your health and beauty! Drink lots of water to keep your body hydrated (and your skin clearer), use moisturizer when you wash your face and your body (don’t forget your neck!!!) to look younger longer, and use sunscreen and repairative moisturizers/conditioners on your hair to keep that beautiful shine and body as long as possible!

Jackie Blizzard (Me): This is great advice! The Institute of Medicine recommends that men drink at least 3 liters of water a day (13 cups), and ladies you need to get at least 2.2. liters a day (9 cups)! Investing in a quality reusable water bottle that makes drinking water easier has been key for me keeping my water intake up. I use the insulated CamelBak eddy Insulated Stainless-Steel Water Bottle, but they also make non-insulated versions that hold more water (meaning fewer refills)!

What do you think of our Stylist Q&A series? Have any questions you want answered? Comment and let us know!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

